Writing in the midst of the pandemic, we explore many of the ways creative thought and action are used for the enrichment of civic life in Philadelphia, for all citizens, and create our unique urban environment.

Special Offer
for AIA Philadelphia Members

Architectural Record is offering AIA Philadelphia Members the chance to continue their subscription for a special rate of $49 for a full year. To view the offer and continue your subscription, click here.

November 19, 2020
Member News

North American Contractor Certification Program Receives 2020 Gary E. Bird Horizon Award

By Elizabeth Paul

Release Date: Oct 19, 2020

Dallas, TX—The North American Contractor Certification (NACC) Program received the 2020 Gary E. Bird Horizon Award today at the International Risk Management Institute, Inc. (IRMI) Construction Risk [Virtual] Conference (CRC). Program Technical Director Ben Beeler accepted the prestigious honor on behalf of the Architectural Glass and Metal Certification Council (AGMCC).

The NACC Certification Program was developed with input from architects, engineers, general contractors, glazing contractors, consultants, specifications specialists, and glass industry manufacturers and suppliers. All aspects of the program are managed and administered by an independent third-party organization, and it is governed by a committee composed of the same cross-section of industry experts and stakeholders that helped develop it. The program is sponsored by the AGMCC, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit, public benefit organization.

Mr. Beeler’s winning submission, “A Certification Program Providing Consistency, Quality, and Safety Benchmarks,” highlighted the program’s comprehensive certification process, which assesses contractor proficiency in five areas: business practices, safety, glazing processes, contract administration, and quality management.

Submissions are judged by an independent panel of seven industry professionals. The 2020 judges are as follows.

Steve Bird, principal consultant, Esses Consulting Inc.
Kathleen Creedon, owner/consultant, Wrap Strategies
David Dolnick, president, Dolnick Risk Advisors
Karen Keniff, vice president, national lead for large and complex construction risk, CNA
Jennifer Lee, vice president, national practice lead, loss sensitive and wrap-up, construction, Travelers
TJ Lyons, safety professional, DPR Construction
Joseph Russo, executive vice president, regional construction industry leader—Northeast, Willis Towers Watson

“While certification programs are nothing new, the applicability of a certification process to construction risk management-related functions is quite unique, especially in the construction trades,” Dolnick noted. “That this program followed well established models in construction further supports both the functionality of it and the unique adaptation of those established methods to the problem at hand.”

The Gary E. Bird Horizon Award, sponsored by Travelers, is presented annually by IRMI to recognize a demonstrated commitment to improving construction risk management through the implementation of innovative, cost-effective, and efficient risk management techniques.

The other finalist for the award was Lois Hamilton, safety and operations coordinator on behalf of TEXO Association, for her submission, “Reimagining the Building Process.”

For more information, including how to submit a nomination for the 2021 award, visit https://www.irmi.com/conferences/construction-risk-conference/horizon-award.

About IRMI

For more than 40 years, IRMI has helped save lives and livelihoods as the premier provider of risk management and insurance information, tools, education, and training. IRMI helps risk management, insurance, and legal professionals make better decisions for their companies and clients with unbiased expertise and balanced, comprehensive content. For more information, visit https://www.irmi.com.

Mission Statement for the Gary E. Bird Horizon Award

The purpose of the award is to promote the awareness of innovative techniques, processes, and programs that are effective in construction risk management. The identification and communication of these best practices will assist others in the risk management community to review and develop their own best practices.

About the NACC Program

The North American Contractor Certification (NACC) Program is the glazing industry’s only third-party, ANSI accredited recognition of architectural glass and metal contractors who consistently demonstrate business and operational excellence. Applicant companies undergo an annual, multi-day, on-site evaluation of their adherence to industry identified best practices, and proficiency in the areas of business processes, quality, safety, contract administration, and glazing processes.

IRMI Contact: Heidi Vincent, (800) 827–4242

NACC Program Contact: Ben Beeler [email protected] or Jeff Dalaba [email protected]

PRESS RELEASE LINK:  https://www.irmi.com/about/press-releases/north-american-contractor-certification-program-receives-2020-gary-e.-bird-horizon-award

IRMI HORIZON AWARD LINK: https://www.irmi.com/conferences/construction-risk-conference/horizon-award

©Copyright 2008-2021 AIA Philadelphia. All Rights Reserved.