Licensing + Inspections/Gov't Affairs

The AIA and the City of Philadelphia’s Department of L&I work together to improve the process and submissions for building permit approval in the construction division. Activities include continuing education on the City of Philadelphia’s processes, the changes in the building codes and their application and in the process and procedures of the department. To learn about upcoming events, sign up for our mailing list.

Resources

Sample Energy Compliance Sheet

An Overview of Special Inspections Program  Committee prepared white paper

2021 Tax Abatement Timeline Fact Sheet - Note the pending push for permits before the end of the year.  This resource prepared by the city highlights all of the city review agencies and anticipated timelines/recomended submission dates.

Have a question or a concern you would like the committee to introduce to the Department of L&I? 

Ask the committee

And stay on top of the latest in L&I news

Join Our Email List

Contacts:

Chris Stigler (Chair) [email protected]
Jamie Unkefer (Co-Chair) [email protected] 
 

committeenewsheader-01.png

2021

July 21st, 2021

Presentation with L&I.  Anticipated topics include new excavation bills and Historic preservation as well as new floodplain guidance

May 20, 2021

L&I is requiring a new energy compliance sheet to accomodate building permits.  Sample Energy Compliance Sheet 

April 22, 2021

Open Forum with AIA Memebers.  Notes being presented to L&I.  Stay tuned for comments.

March 15, 2021

Please see the slides from our Navigating Residential Permitting presentation with L&I!

January 2020

As part of our 2020 outreach efforts, we will be meeting with representatives of L&I on a regular basis.  We would like to hear from you!  What concerns do you see in the L&I Permitting process?  What changes do you think would be beneficial to everyone?  What could we suggest to L&I for improvements?  Contact us!  We have a new committee email address [email protected] 


JUNE 2019

City Of Philadelphia Electronic Permit Submissions are coming soon! For information and Pre-registration please see the L&I Information Page 

A Presentation was held at the Center for Architecture and Design regarding the updated building codes and impending updates to the City of Philadelphia Plumbing Code.  Presented by Elizabeth Baldwin of the City of Philadelphia.

View the Presentation


APRIL 2019

April 2019 Presentation - Philadelphia Streets Department Right of Way Unit

Why You Should Register in eCLIPSE

eCLIPSE Registration Quick Guide

Please see below links for the Plumbing code updates and revisions to the Accelerated review bill.

Philadelphia Plumbing Code Highlights

Philadelphia IPC Amendments


MARCH 2018

March 2018 Report

L&I Committee | Philadelphia Streets Department Survey


DECEMBER 2017 

AIA Philadelphia's L&I Committee hosted a program on the state of Philadelphia's Licenses and Inspections Department (L&I). Elizabeth Baldwin, Executive Director of Development Services of L&I discussed some of the latest developments and programs in the works including:

  • Web-based Permitting
  • Service initiatives (online appointment, project meetings, focus groups)
  • House Bill 409 and proposed changes to the model building codes
  • Change to the Industrialized Housing Act
  • Special Inspections registration
  • L+I Resources

View the Presentation