Board Induction Celebration

On January 9, 2020, AIA Philadelphia members gathered at the Athenaeum of Philadelphia for an evening of fellowship to celebrate the induction of the 2020 Board of Directors and Officers. The program included the presentation of the Thomas U. Walter Award to Bob Kelly, AIA. The Walter award honors a chapter member for his/her contributions to the architectural community through service to the American Institute of Architects and its initiatives.

View the Photo Album

With over 100 attendees present including many of the Chapter's Past Presidents, AIA Philadelphia inducted its newest members into the 2020 Board of Directors. 


Paul Avazier, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, NCARB
Atkin Olshin Schade Architects


Soha St. Juste, AIA
Architecture Design Principal, Jacobs 


Rich Vilabrera, Jr., Assoc. AIA
Design Technology Speciality, KieranTimberlake


Robert Shuman, AIA, LEED AP
Associate Professor and Program Head of Architecture, Temple University
MGA Partners Architects

Past President

John B. Campbell, AIA
President, Francis Cauffman Architects 

Director of Design 

Jeff Goldstein, AIA
Principal, DIGSAU

Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Erin Roark, AIA, LEED AP
Senior Associate, WRT

Director of Sustainability and Preservation

Brian Smiley, AIA, CDT, LEED BD+C
Senior Project Architect and Director of Sustainability, HOK

Director of Firm Culture and Prosperity

Philip Burkett, AIA
Principal Architect, Meyer

Associate Director of PEA

Michael Penzel, Assoc. AIA
Architectural Designer, BRR Architecture

Director of Advocacy

Kevin Malawski, AIA

AIA PA Director

Scott J. Compton, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP
Principal, Compton Insights

Public Member

Tya Winn
Director of Project Planning, Habitat for Humanity Philadelphia

This group of reelected or newly elected board members join a seasoned group of veterans from previous elections. Rounding out the board are:

Director of Strategic Engagement

Danielle DiLeo Kim, AIA
Executive Director, USA 250

Director of Education

Rob Fleming, AIA
Thomas Jefferson University

Associate Director of PEA

Clarissa Kelsey, Assoc. AIA

Director of Professional Development

Timothy A. Kerner, AIA
Terra Studio Architecture + Design

Director of Technology + Innovation

Stephen Kuttner Potts, AIAf
Stanev Potts Architects

In addition to celebrating the new board members, the recipient of the Thomas U. Walter Award, Bob Kelly, AIA, Principal of ideeworks, was recognized for his contributions to the architectural community through service to the American Institute of Architects and other related professional organizations.

A special thank you to the AIA Philadelphia Induction Legacy sponsor:

and also for the support of long-time friend of the Chapter: