Annual Design Awards Recap

AIA Philadelphia celebrated the culmination of the year by celebrating the accomplishments of member architecture firms and individuals. More than 20 local architecture firms were honored for their excellence in design and 6 individuals for their contributions to the architecture industry. 

2020 Achievement awards include the following: John Frederick Harbeson Award, Harris Steinberg, FAIA; the Paul Philippe Cret Award recipient Betty Jane Turner MA BA CIP; the Young Architect Award recipient, David Quadrini, AIA; the Philadelphia Emerging Architecture Prize recipient Bright Common; the Alan Greenberger Award recipient, Todd Woodward, AIA, LEED AP; and the Volunteer of the Year, Lance Rothstein, AIA

This year’s Boston, MA-based jury included: Andrea Leers, FAIA, Founding Principal of Leers Weinzapfel Associates, Eric Höweler, AIA, Co-Founder/Principal of Höweler + Yoon,  Elizabeth Whitaker, AIA, Principal of Merge Architects Inc., and Andrea Love, AIA, LEED Fellow/Principal at Payette

View the awards program in its entirety as well as individual videos for the Harbeson, Cret, Young Architect, PEA Prize, and Alan Greenberger honorees, and all of our project winners on the AIA Philadelphia YouTube Channel.


Gold Medal Award

Stantec + Snøhetta Joint Venture | Charles Library at Temple University

Sustainability Award

HOK | LG North American Headquarters

Bright Common | Outlet

Divine Detail Award

MGA Partners | Puglisi Hall, University of Delaware, Acoustical Treatments

Honor Awards 

General Built Category

Coscia Moos | Hamilton Court Amenities Building

EwingCole | MaST II Community Charter School

General Unbuilt Category

Oombra | The Carriage House

Interior Architecture Built Category

Stantec + Snøhetta Joint Venture | Charles Library at Temple University

Historic Preservation/Adaptive Reuse Built Category

Voith & Mactavish Architects | Silverman Hall

KSS Architects | The Remy Theatre

Planning Unbuilt Category

Port Urbanism | 8th Street Gateway Park Masterplan

Small Projects (Under 500k) Built Category

WRT | Sara Berman's Closet

Merit Awards

General Built Category

Bright Common | Alone House

Digsau | Edible Garden and Classroom

ISA | Mountain House

KieranTimberlake | East End Transformation

KJO Architecture | Lokal Fishtown

Digsau | The Jefferson School Middle School Building

General Unbuilt Category

Erdy McHenry | Hostel COOP

MGA Partners | Performing Arts Center, Central High School

Oombra | Urban Boat House

Bright Common | Front

Historic Preservation/Adaptive Reuse Built Category

BLTa | The Bourse

Bright Common | Play Arts*

*with a commendation for great citizenship

Interior Architecture Built Category

Kaminski + Pew | Scout Ltd. Office

Small Projects (Under 500k) Built Category

Port Urbanism | Low Line Phase 1

Digsau | Library Playspace

Community Design Collaborative’s Paul Sehnert Award for Community Development

HOK, J+M Engineering, Tutor Perini Building Corp., and Lisa McCann | The Philadelphia Masjid & People's Emergency Center

Brawer & Hauptman Architects, Powers & Company, Inc., Orndorf & Associates, Inc., Alderson Engineering, Inc., and the Sullivan Company | Wharton-Wesley United Methodist Church & ACHIEVEability

Studio 6mm, Kate Cowing Architect, LLC, Keast & Hood, Burns Engineering, Inc., and International Consultants, Inc. | Zion Baptist Church & Called to Serve CDC

Don't forget to visit the AIA Philadelphia YouTube Channel to view more content for this event.