Annual Design Awards Celebration

AIA Philadelphia celebrated the culmination of its 150th anniversary year by celebrating the accomplishments of member architecture firms and individuals. More than 20 local architecture firms were honored for their excellence in design and 6 individuals for their contributions to the architecture industry. Five new categories of awards were introduced this year including the first-ever Sustainability Award. More than 20 individual and firm awards were presented including an unprecedented two honorees for the coveted Gold Medal, the highest award of the night. 

Achievement awards include the following: 2019 John Frederick Harbeson Award, Susan Maxman, FAIA; the 2019 Paul Philippe Cret Award recipient Elizabeth Miller; the 2019 Young Architect Award recipients, Fátima Olivieri-Martinez, AIA and Drew Lavine, AIA; the 2019 Philadelphia Emerging Architecture Prize recipient Studio 6mm; and the 2019 Alan Greenberger Award recipient, Paul Sehnert

View the Photo Gallery

This year’s Austin, TX-based jury included: Wendy Dunnam Tita, FAIA, IIDA, LEED AP and Principal/Interior Architecture Director for Page; Juan Miró, FAIA, LEED AP and Principal of Miró Rivera Architects; and Michael Hsu of Michael Hsu Office of Architecture.

Gold Medal Award

DIGSAU | PPR Apartments

Silver Medal Award

Moto Designshop | St. Joseph’s University Arrupe Hall

Sustainability Award

HOK | Penn State University Chemical and Biomedical Building

Divine Detail Award

Studio 6mm | New Co-Operative Food Market

Honor Awards 

General Built Category

ISA | XS House 

DIGSAU | The Discovery Center

BLT, Architect of Record + Pelli Clarke Pelli, Design Architect | FMC Tower

Interior Architecture Built Category

EwingCole | MSK Bergen 

Historic Preservation/Adaptive Reuse Built Category

ISA | Cherry Street Pier

Erdy McHenry Architecture | Arborcrest V (Woodlands I)

Atkin Olshin Schade Architects | Metropolitan Opera House

Planning Unbuilt Category

PORT | Urban Wilderness Gateway Masterplan

Merit Awards

Historic Preservation/Adaptive Reuse Built Category

Atkin Olshin Schade Architects | Richards Medical Research Laboratories

JKRP Architects | The Hale Building

Small Projects (Under 500k) Built Category

PORT | Oval Plus

KieranTimberlake | The Yard

General Built Category

KJO Architecture | Shifted

FCA | Brooklyn Health Center

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson | New College House, University of Pennsylvania

OOMBRA Architects | Brush + Watson

Interior Architecture Built Category

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson | Blue Bottle Coffee Café, World Trade Center 

Dragani Martone Studio | Urban Cocoon 

Community Design Collaborative’s Paul Sehnert Award for Community Development

Oxford Circle Christian Community Development Association | The Laura H. Carnell Elementary School: Conceptual Design for Open Space Improvements

View all the award videos on our YouTube Channel